This morning I had the pleasant surprise of Ed getting off work super early and making me breakfast. It was a hardy and tasty feast of biscuits and gravy. I was eating a vanilla yogurt when he got home, so I had that as well. Part way through the morning I was struck by inspiration and so I stuck the chicken we had in the fridge waiting for it’s fate to be decided in the crockpot. I seasoned it with lemon peel, garlic, pepper, olive oil and red wine vinegar. Lunch today was not going to be as bad for me as it has been lately.

When lunch time rolled around I ate the chicken on a bed of romaine lettuce with some carrots. It was pretty tasty.  I did actually eat after my workout today. Breakfast really stuck with me for a while this time.

My afternoon strength lifting was hang power snatches and overhead squats. The overhead squat is my weakest lift. I find myself losing my depth a lot in these and I have really deep squats in general so I don’t understand it but I will fix it.

Hang Power Snatch – 5,5,5,3,1 – 45, 55, 65, 75 & 85 pounds

Overhead Squats – 5,3,3 – 75, 85 and 95 pounds.

The last round of the hang power snatch was supposed to be three reps but it took me two tries to get one rep.  I do believe that is the highest weight I have done with this movement. I will have to double check that. I had also planned the overhead squats to be a 3×5 but that didn’t work out either. Rep 4 of my second round I lost stability and depth. I would rather do fewer reps and do them right than do all 5 reps at shallow depth and all wobbly overhead. So I did only 3 reps that round and stuck with three reps the last round. I almost didn’t get that third rep at 95 pounds.

Tonight’s WOD at the box was Cindy. I hadn’t met up with Cindy in a while and the last time I did I got just barely over 10 rounds. This time I was just aiming to beat that. I was hoping for 12 rounds and I know I had it in me, but in round 9 I think it was my hand started trying to tear. Every pull up after that was painful but it got really bad in round 10. I had to do my pull ups one at a time. Every time I came off the bar I was pushing my skin back down trying desperately to keep it from ripping. It hurt. A lot. But I wasn’t about to stop or skip reps. At one point I wrapped my headband around my hand to get another couple of reps out. In the end I got 11 rounds and 1 pull up. I want to say I am happy about it, but honestly I know I have more in me. Next time I will remember to tape my hands before the workout.

On the flip side, this is the first time I have come close to ripping my hands like this because this is the first time I have really pushed myself through so many pull ups so fast. Driving home was not fun. My hand was throbbing and my arms were borderline numb. I haven’t worked them this hard in a while. I loved it.

Today is progress day. Before I go to bed tonight I will have my measurements and pictures posted so be sure to check them out. I’m not expecting a whole lot at this point, but it’s good to keep an eye on progress and also to “keep my eye on the prize” so to speak.

** Pictures and measurements have been updated.

Leave a Reply

