This morning I started off getting to sleep in until almost 9. It was nice and very much needed. I had two eggs over easy with a large amount of bacon and coffee for breakfast. My arms and chest and upper backs were sore from all the pull ups and push ups the other day. I haven’t actually been this sore in a long time and I find it to be a nice reminder that it isn’t easy to push yourself to change your body and get stronger but when you do it your body lets you know.

After breakfast it was time to get to the box to assist with teaching the onramp class. We went over kettlebell movements including the swing, press and sumo deadlift high pull. I was the demo person and to make sure I got a little bit of something out of it I used 35 pounds. I debated going higher but honestly when you are showing someone proper technique it doesn’t make sense to push yourself with a higher weight. Also, I used 20 pounds for the presses for the same reason.

Kettlebell swings are one of those moves where some people just get it with a little tweaking and for others it such a foreign concept that it takes a lot of time to master. That’s fine, but I think it’s important for those people who are working on technique to stick to a lighter weight.To me, if you’re not sure if you have the form right or not just check how you feel during the workout and when you get up the next day. If you arms are getting sore and tired first then you are using your arms too much. If your hips are feeling the burn, you are either doing it correctly or more closely and likely just need some fine tuning. I most certainly did not master the kettlebell swing on my first day but I have come to love it.

After the gym was my baby girl’s third birthday party. There was pizza, cake and ice cream involved. I had some of each. My kids are all growing up so fast. They are all very smart and wonderful children and this isn’t just mother’s bias speaking. Earlier this year my baby girl was helping a five year old at the baby sitter’s house learn his alphabet. I know I am going to have my hands full keeping them challenged in school.

Lunch and dinner sort of blurred together. At one point I was snacking on cookie dough. I did resist the thin mints today so I guess it was kind of a trade off. Sunday is the day I sit down and plan out meals for the upcoming week or at the very least for a couple of days out if we don’t have time to make it to the store.

Leave a Reply

