I did not want to wake up this morning. However, my alarm clock also serves as a breakfast alert for our kitten and so Mocha was in my face to make sure I didn’t oversleep.

For breakfast I had the last of the left over roast with some more carrots, a small glass of milk, an even smaller glass of orange juice as I finished off the carton and the usual coffee.

My afternoon workout was a little later than normal so before hand I had a little snack. I “grilled” some apples that were lightly sprinkled with cinnamon in a skillet with some extra virgin olive oil and then drizzled on the “caramel” sauce I found here. I used almond butter as it was the only nut butter I had on hand and it was YUMMY.

This picture does not properly reflect how delicious these were.

For my workout today the focus was on hang power snatches and overhead squats.

Hang Snatch – 3×3 – 60, 70 & 80 pounds

OHS – 3×3 – 80, 90 & 100 pounds.

I actually ended up doing 4 reps at 100 and failing at my attempt for a 5th rep. Overhead squats are definitely my weakness and I plan on correcting that. When we get a wall ball for our home gym I will be using that to make sure I get full depth. I think I might add this movement to Friday’s lifting with a low weight to work on form and stability.

After work it was onramp time at the gym. More kettlebell swings and wall balls. This time I didn’t try to hurt my arm doing wall balls. That was a plus. Kettlebell swings are not an easy move to master and so to the beginners I would like to say focus on one issue at a time and be patient. If your arms are sore the next time but your glutes aren’t, you still need some work to do. Be patient and keep at it. You will get it. I did and I am sure my first attempt at them sucked.

Dinner was chicken cooked in the crock pot with some seasonings and a sweet potato with butter. Then a bottle of red wine with a small piece of cheesecake for dessert while catching up on Castle. I do love that show. I started watching it because I love Nathan Fillion aka Capt. Malcolm Reynolds aka Captain Sexy-pants. I do, however, love the show for the show and not just because he is in it.

Tomorrow is my active rest day which means no heavy lifting at home. I do plan on doing some burpees and the WOD my box has set. Hence the “active” and not full rest, sitting on my butt eating frozen cookie dough from the container and wasting all the effort I put in already this week. I’m trying my best to ignore the frozen cookie dough.

Wish me luck.

Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing my recipe! Glad you enjoyed it : )

Leave a Reply

