Day 25

Today was actually fairly productive. I slept in a little bit and that was wonderful. I was in no rush to do anything. I spent the morning catching up on laundry and actually putting some of it away this time. For breakfast I had a couple of scrambled eggs with my coffee. Lunch was a sweet potato hash with ground beef and carrots. I’m still tweaking this recipe. It was better than the last time I had it but still lacking something. I will get it figured out.

After lunch I went to help a friend move and got to see some people I hadn’t seen in a while. It was nice. Plus all the trips up and down the stairs were a nice mini-wod. After that I stopped in at Local Pig. It’s a butcher shop/charcuterie that I have been meaning to check out for some time now but never even knew where it was. I ended up leaving there with a couple of bacon burger patties, jalapeno-chedder burger patties, stuffed dates and bbq burnt end sausage.

So, for dinner I had a bacon burger, no bun, and a side of cauliflower & carrot mash. This was my first time trying the mash and I think it turned out really well. I made a big batch and so there was some left over.

After dinner I did my lifting from Friday. For some reason I had it in my head that I missed doing my front squats but I double checked my calendar and realized it was back squats. Week four is my deloading week and, as much as it pained me, I didn’t go heavy. I followed the recommended percentages and this week was 40%, 50% & 60% with 5 reps each. That came out to 80, 100 and 120 pounds. Ed was out there with me and he did the same but went up to 185 pounds. It was hard stopping at 120 but I reminded myself that there is a method to this madness. I also did 10 reps of power clean to push press at 65 pounds to work on speed. I’m going to work this in at varying reps with anything from 65 to 85 pounds to work on the speed of this movement while keeping proper form.

Day 26

For breakfast I had a couple of the sausage stuffed dates and they were delicious. I also had two eggs over medium. Lunch was a small cup of turkey vegetable soup, some left over cauliflower-carrot mash and a few pieces of turkey.

My workout today was front squats and strict presses. Both at the same lower percentages. It’s going to be that way all week.

Strict press – 3×5 – 45,55,65 – They felt good… and insanely easy

Font squats – 3×5 – 70, 90, 110 – also felt good and light. I focused on form and hitting proper depth with out going too low. Just tried to break parallel and come back up.

Between the two movements I decided to do some more cleans to push presses for speed like yesterday. Today I went for 2 minutes and did a total of 22 reps. 12 the first minute, 10 the second. I tried to make sure that every rep was fluid and efficient. Next time I do it I am going for a true max effort in three minutes. I could have done more in this one but took a rest break after the first twelve reps until the end of the first minute (about 13 seconds).

Dinner was chicken breast wrapped in bacon and smothered in pineapple. That crap is delicious and my own creation. I am proud of it’s beauty and simplicity. I made it one night a while back when all three ingredients were in the house. Seriously tasty stuff. TRY IT. You just wrap bacon around chicken breast and then cover it with pineapple and back it until it is done. How much easier can it get?

If you don’t try it sometime that’s your loss. But seriously, do it.

Oh, and I also made some sweet potato fries seasoned with rosemary and ground coriander. I could eat my weight in that. There was supposed to be left overs for Ed for tomorrow. All he is getting is one chicken breast. Sorry baby. Every time I went in the kitchen I ate more fries. I’m not ashamed.

I was having a craving for chocolate and so Ed was kind enough to bring some home. Godiva. 85% dark chocolate.Giant bar. I think the bar is intended for cooking. I don’t care. I behave and only ate two pieces. I did ignore the girl scout cookies, m&m’s and kit kats that spent the day calling to me. Screw you temptation. I want tight abs more than I want you.

I also had a couple of glasses of wine with my baby before calling it a night, which I am doing now.

Leave a Reply

