I’m not going to recap this weekend in full tonight, instead I am going to share my lessons learned the hard way.

4.5 days of gluten free eating was ruined by poor planning. Friday I did not eat that bad during the day, I kept it gluten free and mostly paleo if you don’t count the yogurt. However, I did not eat enough food before having to make a 2.5 hour drive and was hungry when I hit the road. Letting my stomach think for me I had taco bell. Two burritos was all it took to ruin my gluten detox.

It didn’t end there. Saturday morning I was good. I had eggs and fruit. Lunch, however, I made orange chicken for my kids and had some myself. The sauce contained soy sauce, which has gluten. Then a birthday party complete with cake. Sure, I skipped passed the chips and had veggies but I had two small pieces of cake. It was delicious.

Today I felt the affects of my actions. Headache, ass dragging, no motivation to do anything and basically just felt like crap. Lesson learned. I had sausage for breakfast, burger for lunch with no bread, cucumbers and celery and dinner was hot wings. Yeah, now that I know what impact the gluten really has on you when you have been away from it for a while it will be a LOT easier to skip it. Oh, and when I ate on the road today I ordered a chicken breast sandwich – grilled, not breaded – and I took it off the bun before I ate it.

On the plus side, yesterday I taught the onramp class and felt it went well. I find it really rewarding to share my love of Crossfit with others and help them learn the ins and outs of the movements along with showing them they are capable of so much more than they thought.

I am officially in to the second thirty days. I have slacked a bit on posting pictures and the latest measurements. I will get them updated tomorrow. Tonight I have let the day slip away from me and I am exhausted so off to bed I go.

Leave a Reply

