Yesterday I felt like crap. I ate better, but I felt like crap. Like I was trying to get sick even though it’s the last thing I wanted. I blame it on the gluten. Even if that’s not the case, I am going to say it is because that will make it easier to avoid the gluten in the future. So that’s a good thing. Speaking of gluten and its impact on the body, I stumbled across this earlier today.

Pay attention to number 4. That was totally me yesterday. I was CRANKY. Nope, that’s not right. I was at the edge of my stress limitations and I was bitchy. How Ed put up with me I honestly don’t know. He did maintain his distance quite nicely.

I ate better yesterday. No gluten. Eggs scrambled with ham for breakfast, banana, celery with almond butter, sliced ham and for dinner we had rib-eyes with grilled zucchini and squash.

I didn’t lift. Like I said, I felt like crap. At the end of the night when I realized how much of a slacker I had been I popped out 50 air squats. Not for time and not pushing myself too hard. But they were consecutive.

Today I had chicken wrapped in bacon and a banana for breakfast. Celery with almond butter for a snack. A quesadilla for lunch made with corn flour tortillas. Not the greatest, I know, but no gluten in that tortilla. Dinner was an 8 oz sirloin filet wrapped in bacon with a side of sauteed veggies and a glass of wine. Dessert was half a bar of dark chocolate and two more glasses of wine.

My workouts tonight, before dinner, totally kicked my ass. First it was 5 rounds for time of 115 pound squat cleans and 35 pound kettlebell swings. I won’t lie, I pushed myself harder in this workout than I have in a while. Two reasons for this. First, it’s the first WOD Ed has been able to make it to in weeks and I knew he was in a position to watch me. Second, I could see Holly. She beat me, but I did my best to keep up. She got her last round of kettlebell swings in before I started them. That girl pushes me and I hope she knows it. 🙂

For club we did an 8 minute EMOM (every minute on the minute) push press, push jerk and split jerk. I shared a bar with Holly and Layne. We kept a great rhythm and did 95 pounds. After that it was BE’s tabata hell. That may not be what it was officially called, but that is my name for it. Tabata – 8 rounds of a movement for 20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest. Deadlifts at 165 pounds. Ring dips (I need to work on these as I still have to use a band). Box jumps. RX for the box jumps was 30 inches for everyone. I haven’t really done them since I hurt my ankle and so I did 24 inches. It felt nice to actually jump on the box jump but I still need to be really careful with these.

BE, you are evil, sadistic and this night totally kicked my ass. Thank you. It was EXACTLY what I needed. I’m back on it tomorrow.

Comments
  1. kaylesleigh1 says:

    Good stuff – getting the gluten is evil message takes a bit of time, I found. I’m not really sure how I’m going to do a gluten free Christmas but I really don’t want to feel that bad again, just because I ate stuff that makes me bloated, miserable and intolerant!

    • 42tara says:

      Yeah, Christmas is definitely going to be hard. I need to play around with some paleo recipes and bring a bunch of deserts to try and keep myself away from all the cookies.

Leave a Reply

