Sorry about the delay in posting. I let myself get behind on here but have been keeping up with my workouts.

To save this from being a lengthy recap post I am going to sum things up.

I stuck to my gluten free diet for almost this entire period. The only exception to that was when Ed & I went out for dinner after shopping on Wednesday. I wasn’t thinking and ordered mashed potatoes with gravy… It was only after I finished my meal that it hit me that flour is used to thicken gravy. Seriously, I don’t know what I was thinking. Good news, it wasn’t a lot and I didn’t notice any ill effects. I mainly had bacon & eggs for breakfast and a variation of protein/fruits/veggies through out the day.

For my lifting, Wednesday was a rest day. Thursday I did Back squats and hit a 10 pound PR. I did 45×2, 85×2, 125×2, 150×2, 170×1, 190×1 then I rested for 5 minutes and did 215×1, 220×1 and 225×1.

Friday I hit a 5 pound PR on my front squats. I did 45×2, 75×2, 105×2, 125×2, 145×1, 165×1 and after a 5 minutes rest period I did 180×1 and 185×1.

Saturday was OnRamp day again. During that I demo’d sumo-deadlift high pulls with 65 pounds and wall balls. I did 16 pounds for the wall balls. They felt pretty good. I think I am going to try and force myself to do 16 pounds on any WOD that isn’t Karen. After that I stuck around for about an hour and worked on various things. First I worked on double unders. I was able to string together 30. That felt great. Then I did some pistols. They still need a lot of work and are going to be a focus for me in this next month. After that I worked on my squat snatches. I did 45×2, 65×2, 85×2 and 95×2. I tried 105 but couldn’t get it. My upper body has taken a lot of abuse this past week so I didn’t push it. After 3 failed attempts I moved on. I did 25 GHD sit-ups and worked on my strict hang pull ups. I still need a band but am able to get 2 with the smallest band before moving it to 2 bands.

Sunday was a “rest” day of sorts. Ed & I worked together on cleaning/reorganzing the garage. We spent 4 hours out there moving shelves, cleaning, sorting moving stuff out and moving it back in.

Sunday night I made something I had never thought I would try make. Paleo ketchup. I used this recipe minus the fennel bulb. My local grocery store doesn’t carry it this time of year. I haven’t had a chance to try it on anything but did taste it last night. It’s doesn’t have your typical ketchup flavor but is very similar. I will be making open face burgers tonight to see how they pair together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

