A Moment of Silence

Posted: December 29, 2012 in 90 Day Challenge, Second 30
Tags: , , , , ,

This has been a busy week and then some. There were many trips across the state and back for various family functions related to the holidays and a lot of other things going on. I do hope that everyone had an enjoyable holiday and that you are all safe.

I was going to do a post this past weekend that recapped each day I had missed with workouts and how I had been eating but it didn’t happen. Instead I got some news that broke my heart. So instead I will just tell you that I ate mostly good but sometimes not and I kept to my workout and lifting as much as possible.

Sunday, December 23, 2012 I got a call from my sister. I could tell right away from her voice that something was wrong. I wasn’t expecting the news she shared. An old friend of ours had passed away. Tonya Grace/Wilburn, known amongst our friends as Bama. She moved across the street from me back when we were in school. I’ll never forget it. She used to live in Alabama and had a strong accent, hence the nickname, and it wasn’t 2 weeks after we became friends that I picked up her accent.

34 years young, she died of a heart attack. She left behind a 5 year old son and a lot of people who love her dearly. I hate that we lost touch after high school. I lost touch with so many of my high school friends. I never wanted to but sometimes lift just gets in the way. I don’t want life to get in the way anymore.

Bama, your passing has broke my heart more than I expected. I was okay on the phone with Jenny when she told me. Of course, I was worried about her. She has been through so much the past couple of years. However, it wasn’t mere seconds after I hung up that I broke down in tears. I’m in tears right now. I love you girl. I always will. There are so many memories. Some good, some not so good, some we probably don’t want people to know about.

I’ll never forget that time we made a huge batch of cookie dough only for you to remember right as we were about to cook them that your stove was broken. We didn’t care. Thankfully your mom didn’t either. Babysitting for someone you knew and discovering that the baby would stop crying if we danced. We said it was the vibrations in the floor that soothed her, but I think it was our spirits and the joy of just having fun.

You have moved on but you are not forgotten. You live on in the hearts of those that love you.

You were laid to rest today and unfortunately I could not be there. You are family to me, but work just doesn’t see it that way. Instead I held my own personal moment of silence and I dedicate this coming year to you.

I love you girl.

Leave a Reply

