This morning I had a late breakfast but I didn’t let my hunger lead to bad food choices. I had two eggs over medium and bacon. For lunch I had turkey and half of a large sweet potato with butter. Ed got off of work early today and so I was nice and split the last sweet potato with him.

My forearms felt better today but not great so I spent more time digging the lacrosse ball in to the sore muscles.

The first workout of the night I had a goal of getting 8 rounds. It was a 15 minute AMRAP of 5 power snatches at 95 pounds and 20 double unders. My double unders weren’t exactly cooperating and I know my form was a bit off on the snatches. My 1 rep max is hanging out at 105, so 95 was a bit heavy. I got 7 rounds plus 1 snatch. Not exactly what I wanted but I am not disappointed.

Strength work tonight started off with 12 minutes of snatch work ending with a 3×1. This was focusing on proper form for the full or squat snatch. I do have a bit of trouble dropping under it when the weight gets heavy. I know that B.E. is right when he said something about me getting bigger numbers once I finally get that drop right. So a lot of my “home work” will include light weight with lots of reps of full squat snatches. I want 135 before the year is over damnit.

After that we did high bar back squats – 3×5. I did a warm up set at 85. Then I did 135, 155 and 155. I could have gone heavier but Holly & I both were leaning a bit forward on the second round so we agreed that we needed to focus on keeping the chest up through out the movement.

I skipped the metcon and went over to help with the rather large onramp class. They were working on snatches and something happened that made me feel pretty damn good. I was trying to help one of the women understand the bar path and keeping it close to the body during the lock out overhead portion of the move. I showed it to her in slow motion with the pvc pipe and then had her run through it a few times. She said people had been telling her the same things over and over about it but that it didn’t make sense until then. Her next three reps, while not perfect, were a LOT closer to the body. I’m very glad I was able to help flip that light switch in her mind.

Dinner tonight was a salad with chicken, carrots, celery, green peppers, romaine lettuce (or maybe it was red leaf, Ed fixed it for me) and homemade Italian dressing. I also had one glass of “Rum Punch” because my wrist was hurting quite a bit. I’m not sure exactly what I did to it. I am taking a rest day tomorrow to recover and do some mobility. I have heard rumors a certain WOD is returning Thursday and I want to be ready for her.

Leave a Reply

